Skip to content

Happy New Year!

September 8, 2011

Different people mark the new year at different times.  You have the calendar year that restarts in January, and the fiscal year that restarts in June or July.  For me, though, the academic year with its start in September that is the most inspiring.  All the kids with their new backpacks, nobel intentions and optimistic course loads, joining the campus gym and signing up to volunteer for the campus environmental group.  The excitement!  The energy!

A while ago I decided that I wasn’t going to let my status of post-doc keep me from amassing a dark army of minions to do my scientific bidding, so I started advising UROP students.  These kids are great and with proper attention, they can really move projects forward.  I had several trainees over the summer that kept me busy trying to keep them busy, but most of them had other plans for the fall.  Now fall is a terrible time to train a UROP, but as I examine my plans to take over the world, it is hard to resist the temptation to pick up another student to overcommit themselves to me rather than one of the many a cappella groups.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Blogrolling: zwitterionique | DrugMonkey

Leave a Reply

