Skip to content

Ciao DOMA: Now I can die!

July 5, 2013

>>On Jun 26, 2013 at 7:43 AM, Friend wrote:

>>is a life without imputed income coming your way?

>On Jun 26, 2013, at 11:21 AM, Zwitter Ionique wrote:

>Now I can die!  So exiting!

On Jun 26, 2013, at 11:43 AM, Friend wrote:

Liberating even…

The neighborhood I lived in during grad school was rough around the edges.  Not only were thefts common, but none of the buildings were in any way up to code.  Our friend’s place a block away caught fire one morning.  They were lucky.  They got out, with their two cats and most of the water and smoke damage hit the second floor apartments, not theirs.  Although our abode was furnished with castoffs, there was no way I could replace everything if it was stolen or destroyed.  The chances of either seemed high to me.  I purchased a modest renter’s insurance policy and my worrying stopped.  It was the best $120 I ever spent.

Clearly I’m a bit of a worrier.  Having kids hasn’t helped that.  They are dependent, and especially before my wife went back to work, my death would be catastrophic for them, emotionally, sure, but also financially.  So I got life insurance.  But this time it didn’t work.  My  worrying didn’t stop.  DOMA made it so it would be taxed so hard – because my beneficiary was technically a stranger – that there would be effectively nothing left, still leaving them all totally screwed.  My only real option was not to die.  My wife wouldn’t let me bike to work anymore and I suddenly became nervous on planes. 

The recent ruling striking down a section of DOMA directly increases my income.  Now the amount my employer pays for health insurance won’t be added to my taxable income.  I am excited about my “raise”.  I’m going to have *two* coffees every day!  I’m going to buy the fancy cheese!  I’m going to buy my kids a whole bunch of new socks so I don’t have to do laundry as often!  I’m going to contribute to a retirement fund!

More that that, I feel light!  I don’t have worry.  Because now, I can die.

Other, more eloquent, people are also relieved to be able to die: http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/i-can-die-now/Content?oid=17152673

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

