Skip to content

NCOD: Professor Edition

October 11, 2016

Today I attached an HRC logo my laptop before I lectured.  In honor of National Coming Out Day.  I am out professionally and have been for over a decade, so I was surprised when I felt nervous.  I hesitated.  I’m still finding my place here, teaching evaluations count, and this campus is much more conservative than other places I’ve worked.

I set up my laptop and lectured with the HRC logo peeping out over the podium.  Today’s subject material is some of my favorite to teach and I had a new set of visuals to try out along with a little module at the end that I’ve taught enough times to have honed the comedic timing.  The lecture went well and it was fun to give.  And now, I feel a little like an asshole for hesitating about the sticker, because after class, three students let me know they got the message.

My fears are stupid, but valid and I resent them.  With time, I hope that I’ll feel secure enough to be bolder.

hrcourlogo

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

